The reason we are called Presbyterians is because we are ruled by Elders (in Greek means Presbyters) which make up the Session.



The Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) is governed by councils, which “exist to help congregations and the church as a whole be more faithful participants in the mission of Christ.” The councils of the church are the session, the presbytery, the synod and the General Assembly. The session is the council for the congregation and is composed of ruling elders, elected by the congregation to active service, as well as all installed pastors and associate pastors.


Councils serve as an expression of the unity of the church and “all councils of the church are united by the nature of the church and share with one another responsibilities, rights and powers as provided by the Constitution.”  Along these lines, each council remains subject to the review of the next higher council. Our polity envisions a system of unity, mutuality and accountability where councils communicate and work together to make important decisions impacting the faith and mission of the whole church. Our polity presupposes a fellowship of love and trust where important constitutional matters are not decided unilaterally, but where lower councils collaborate with higher counsels to prayerfully discern the mind of Christ and work through decisions that will impact the mission of the church. Through dialogue and working together on important and often difficult decisions, sessions, presbyteries, synods and the General Assembly can help the whole church understand more fully what it means for us to be a community of faith, hope, love and witness 



The session is responsible for governing the congregation and guiding its witness to the sovereign activity of God in the world so that the congregation is and becomes a community of faith, hope, love and witness.  In seeking to help the congregation be and become this community, the session has an important role as it engages in prayerful discernment and attends to how God’s Spirit may be at work in the congregation and in the broader community. Along these lines, we recognize that ruling elders are provided “with particular gifts to share in discernment of God’s Spirit and governance of God’s people” and that “together with Ministers of the Word and Sacrament (Pastor), exercise leadership, government, spiritual discernment and discipline and have responsibilities for the life a congregation as well as the whole church…”



As it seeks to lead and guide the congregation, the session is to keep before it the Marks of the Church, the Notes of the Reformed Church, and the Great Ends of the Church. The session’s main responsibilities and powers fall within three broad categories tied to the Notes of the Church: 1)

Providing the word of God may be truly preached and heard; 2) Providing the Sacraments be rightly administered and received; and 3) Nurturing the covenant community of Christ’s disciples.


Those currently serving on Session:

Duane Dunn

Jeff Enger

Danielle Giesler

Charley Keesee

Mark Lee

Gail Martin

Sylvia Pringle

Mary Reed

Mark Sherfy



Property and Finance          Personnel Committee          Kitchen Committee          Worship Committee         Christian Nurture Committee          Church Growth/Outreach

Mark Lee, Chair                    Bob Martin, Chair                  Yvonne Wegner, Chair      Duane Dunn, Chair            Elizabeth Sherfy, Chair                      Charlotte Enger. Chair

Delbert Bossingham           Carrie Orn                                Nancy Fletcher                  Sylvia Pringle                     Danielle Geisler                                  Delbert Bossingham

Bob Martin                            Carrie Orn                               Marge Nething                   Gail Martin                         Jonelle Lindbo                                     

Mark Sherfy                          Elizabeth Sherfy                    Maurine Scholer                 Edith Prentice                    Bev Schaack                                      

Joe Burgard                                                                           Susan Bond                        Dixie Lee                             Ruth Bossingham                              

Ryan Carlson                                                                                                                                                                    Marcy zarkowski                                

Mary Reed, Treasurer                                                                                                                                                      Simone Leigh

                                                                                                                                                                                            Carrie Orn


Membership Committee          Mission Committee       Stewardship Committee          Financial Review Committee          Social Media/Website Committee

Diane Weispfenning, Chair       Sylvia Pringle, Chair       Angie Allmer, Chair                    Jen Bollingberg, Chair                       Rev. Bob Boyar

Nancy Burgard, Clerk                Lou Mayer                        Dixie Lee                                     Nancy Burgard                                   Elizabeth Sherfy

Jackie Tarpinian                        Pat Lindbo                        Mark Lee                                    Bill Weispfenning                                Sharon Watson

Steve Koehn                               Steve Reed                       Mark Sherfy                                                                                             Tony McIntyre   

Sue Parries                                 Mary Reed                                                                                                                                           Deb Hornung

Marge Nething                          Cindy Wermager                                                                                                                                 Tammie Keesee                                                                                                   


Sanctuary Circle                                                        HERRB Project Committee

Dixie Lee & Elizabeth Sherfy, Co-Chairs                 Jackie Tarpinian, Chair

Nancy Burgard                                                           Kim Thoele

Nancy Fletcher                                                           Sylvia Pringle

Diane Weispfenning                                                  Diane Witzig                                               


Links of intererest: 


Presbytery of the Northern Plains website:


PCUSA website:


Synod of Lakes and Prairies website: